Rediscovering Berlin

So, as you know, I went on a whirlwind trip through Europe last week.  As you also know, I returned to Berlin.  It’s a strange feeling to go on such a monumental vacation, and not be able to crash in your own bed when you finally get home from the last airport. The total lack of energy, overwhelming urge to talk to family and friends, and intense need to prepare for another week of teaching all hit you at once.  Reality sets back in and the enthusiasm for new and different experiences subsides, leaving you with stress and post-traveler’s depression.

Although I did experience all of these things, I also decided to fight them – resist logical and natural feelings in order to milk this abroad experience for all it’s worth.

IMG_0429

On Sunday, after doing some work for school, I decided I needed to go to the Berlinale, the international film festival going on 20 minutes from my home here.  There have been signs for it everywhere, I picked up post-cards about it before I even knew what it was, and because my sister might have actually hurt me if I didn’t make an attempt to attend, I put on my game face and mustered the energy to experience this unique and exciting Berlin event.

I asked the other COST students to go with me, but because they are in solo weeks and needed a day without shoes (9 days in boots is rough…), I went to the festival by myself. I know, I know – it’s taboo to go to a movie solo. But I wasn’t going to a movie, I was going to a cultural event. Yes, a movie would be playing, but that wasn’t what it was about (to me anyway). I didn’t even know what I was going to see before I got on the train. Having absolutely no plan (I got used to that last week, more than ever) I hopped on the S-bahn and headed for the Sony Center – my first time being alone in this big city.

When I got to Potsdamer Platz, it was a little later than I had intended on arriving. The 7:00 movies had already begun, and so I went to the ticket counter with no information or any idea what I wanted to see.  I told the lady behind the counter I was looking for a film that began at 7:30 or later and had English subtitles – my only two requirements.

I ended up seeing a Korean film called “Fatal”.  It dealt with some very serious issues and focused on paying for your sins.  The film itself, as I said before, wasn’t the most important thing to me.  I wanted to be there for the experience. It was such a cool atmosphere because there were people from all over the world in this one place for this one reason.  The director and lead actor of the film were in the theatre as we watched it and they answered questions and provided commentary afterward.

Even though I felt slightly awkward going by myself, I’m so happy that I went.  I knew this week would be hectic (I was right) and that I wouldn’t have the chance to attend before leaving for Amsterdam Saturday morning. Deciding to avoid post-vacation blues with a reintroduction to my love of Berlin was just what I needed.

After 4 hours of sleep Sunday night and a crazy first day back to school, I had another Berlin/European item to conquer – a soccer game.  My cooperating teacher bought tickets to one of Berlin’s most intense “fussball” matches of the year – Hertha vs. Union (former East vs former West).  We’d had plans to go for a while now, and even though I was exhausted, I was so excited to be experiencing a real, intense European soccer game.

I was not disappointed (except by the score).  Getting to the game was an experience in and of itself.  It took 5 trains filling with people before we were able to squeeze like sardines into one headed toward Olympic Stadium.  Before the train arrived, the five people in our group locked arms and even though we were blindly shoved into the train, we all made it. Fans were taunting each other on the platform and in the train cars. I may have been smushed together with 100 other people in a tiny space, but I was loving every second. The passion these fans have for their teams in infectious.

Which is something I appreciate.  Whether it’s watching Scotty and his girls take on their KHSAA rivals or being in Rupp to cheer on my cats, I miss the aspect of competition and devotion to a sport.  Even though this was soccer (which I’ve never been a fan of), I felt comfortable surrounded by a stadium full of fans wearing blue or red (fitting, right?) and the loud cheers that didn’t stop for 90 minutes of play.

The game ended without a winner (“And because we have soccer highlights, the sheer pointlessness of a zero-zero tie.” – Sports Night) but just like with the film fest, I was there for the atmosphere, not the show.  I walked away knowing more about the workings of European football than I ever thought possible, with a blue and white scarf to commemorate the experience, and with some social time with my CT which was a nice change of pace.

IMG_4129

I’ve had the privelege of living in the great city of Berlin for over a month now and its versatility is still surprising and refreshing.  My reintroduction after traveling throughout Europe was a reminder of how lucky I am to call this city home for the next 2 1/2 months.

Leave a comment