Passport to Paris

The first “research paper” I ever wrote was in fourth grade. We were instructed to choose our dream vacation destination and describe a week-long trip there.  We were told to figure out how much it would cost, make a list of all the things we would do, write about meals that we ate, and talk about why we chose that place over any other.

I’m calling it a “research paper” because of my teacher. She was in the National Guard and had a glare so intense I swear some of the rowdier boys in my class left with holes burned in their shirts.  This assignment was probably supposed to be fun, but because she was known for being tough (that’s the nicest euphemism I got..) I took the direction of “describing” to intense lengths.

I used the internet for some of my research (mainly restaurant names and food prices) but the bulk of my research came from the cinematic gem “Passport to Paris” starring Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen. I dreamed of having an adventure like they did in this European destination; living in a lavish house, riding on mopeds, and shopping at the most expensive boutiques. My paper ended up being 8 or 9 pages long (which is colossal for a fourth grader!) because 1) I didn’t want to feel the wrath of my teacher for handing in an incomplete/ill-researched assignment and 2) I basically transcribed a movie, minus the love interests.

I’m telling you all of this because what I learned in fourth grade about Paris is all I knew going into this trip. Over the years, my dream destination changed from a metropolitan center to a Mediterranean getaway. I stopped imagining myself in a big city and came to terms with the fact that my life would never be like Mary-Kate or Ashley’s (which I realize now is a good thing).  What wasn’t good, however, is the lack of knowledge I really had about the city of Paris.  On a positive note, I learned a great deal while I was there and feel as if I could give some decent advice to anyone wishing to travel there.

We arrived in the city around 11 in the morning.  Getting off the plane, we had no idea how we were getting to our hostel or how far away it would be.  We didn’t know if there was public transportation at Orly Airport or if we would have to take a cab into the city.  Furthermore, we had no plan for the day and it was becoming increasingly likely that the first day in Paris would be a wash.  Luckily, though, we found an information desk, figured out we could get to our hostel by public transport, and were fortunate enough to only have to take one train (the underground system is a cruel, French labyrinth.. beware!)

Getting to the hostel wound up being the least of our worries.  Once we got to the room, I think we all wished we hadn’t been able to find it.  Oliver was our lovely roommate from Australia (still not sure I believe that) and his bedmate was from somewhere in Paris.  The room reeked of pot and the bathroom was, let’s say, less than clean.  Considering it didn’t smell like Oliver had showered in the last week, it was even more unnerving that our bathroom was so disgusting.  We also only bargained for one roommate – we weren’t exactly thrilled about his Parisian princess joining the party.

Needless to say, we were all a little on edge after we discovered our living situation for the next three days.  But, as I’ve said before, traveling is all about making the best out of every situation, and this was no different.  I was in Paris and I was determined to discover the city I fell in love with thanks to the Olsen twins.

In 3 days, we explored Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, L’Orangerie, the Arc de Triumph, the Latin quarter, and endless gardens and squares.  What we lacked in comfort we made up for with sightseeing.  And food intake.  French food, especially dessert, is a new favorite.

After spending a very busy three days in Paris, I’m not sure I need or want to go back.  Test-tasting three cultures in 8 days allows for a multitude of compare and contrast moments. While I am extremely happy I had the opportunity to visit, I found two other cultures I would much rather visit again.

While I realize I may not have had the best approach to this trip, I don’t think any amount of planning could have made me like this city more than Venice or London.  I’ve saved those two posts for later because in case I have a bad day, I want to have a reason to stop, look through all of my pictures, reminisce about our adventures and instantly cheer up.

Word to the wise: If you’re going to Paris, book a reputable hotel, spend too much money on good food, and be prepared to get lost underground at least once.  Doing these things will ensure a positive experience.

 

IMG_3934

The Louvre

IMG_3899

Venus de Milo, Louvre

IMG_0371

Arc de Triumph

IMG_0362

Heaven on a plate

IMG_0320

Notre Dame

Leave a comment